Arizona drivers must now convert to hands-free driving. Starting on January 1, 2021 Arizona’s ban on texting or talking while driving goes into effect to curb distracted driving.
Drivers will be in violation of the law when:
- holding a phone or other electronic device (like a tablet, gaming device, or music device) in your hand or supporting any such electronic device on your body (i.e., supporting a phone between your shoulder and ear),
- reading or sending text messages,
- scrolling through your phone (i.e., photos, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc.),
- taking videos or photos, and
- watching videos.
There are some exceptions to the law that include:
- using an earpiece, headphones, and smartwatches worn on the wrist to place and receive calls,
- using a device for navigation, and
- using a device to call for help or to call 911 in an emergency.
The law does not apply to:
- using your vehicle’s radio,
- ham radio and two-way radios,
- remote diagnostics systems,
- subscription based emergency communication devices,
- prescribed medical devices,
- navigation, and
- in-vehicle security.
Prior to the law going into effect, law enforcement stopped over 15,000 drivers providing them a warning only. Now, if caught not using a phone or other electronic device in a handsfree mode you will be subject to a civil penalty. A first-time violation may subject drivers to a civil penalty costing between $75 to $149. Second or subsequent violations may subject drivers to a civil penalty costing between $150 to $250.
Please join the lawyers at Snyder & Wenner by using hands-free methods of communicating while driving. Please consider minimizing distractions while driving by putting your phone in “do not disturb” mode. Texts and calls can wait. Safe driving saves lives. If you were injured or have a loved one who was killed by a driver who was distracted while driving, contact us today or call the experienced personal injury attorneys at Snyder & Wenner today at 602-224-0005.