What is the minimum liability limits I have to carry in Arizona for a car crash?
On July 1, 2020, Arizona’s minimum car insurance liability limits increased from $15,000/$30,000/$10,000 to $25,000/$50,000/$15,000. This means that if you cause a car crash, your insurance company will have to cover you for these amounts.
What do these numbers mean if I am injured in or cause a car crash?
The first number, $25,000, is the maximum amount your car insurance carrier will pay per person for injuries you caused in a car crash. For example, if you cause a crash and one person is hurt, your insurance will pay up to $25,000 to that person. The second number, $50,000, is the maximum amount your car insurance carrier will pay if two or more people injuries you caused. This means that if you cause a crash that injures 3 people, your insurance will pay no more than $25,000 to any one person, and no more than $50,000 total. The third number, $15,000, is the maximum amount your car insurance carrier will pay on your behalf to cover property damage you caused.
Why were these numbers increased?
Arizona was one of the few states left in the country with a minimum insurance liability amount of $15,000 for a car crash. With how expensive medical treatment is, $15,000 often will not even cover the emergency room visit. This is especially true when the hospital or your health insurance files a lien against you. While $10,000 more may not seem like a lot, it is a significant improvement and will allow you to receive some extra money to compensate you for your injuries.
Check your car insurance policy to make sure you have at least these amounts of insurance for your car. If you see that you still have the old $15,000/$30,000/$10,000 policy, call your insurance carrier now to get the mandatory minimum car insurance required under Arizona Law.