New Arizona Law Bans Texting While Driving For Some Teens
On July 1, 2018, Arizona passed its first statewide law banning texting while driving for teenagers aged 16-18. While the law fails to address the overarching problem of distracted driving, since it applies only to a small subset of the population, it is a step in the right direction. As it currently stands, Arizona is one of two states in the country that does not completely ban texting while driving for all drivers. Attorney Brian Snyder joined Good Morning Arizona to discuss the new law and the impact it will have on our state.
The new law applies only to 16-18 year olds who are within the first 6 months of getting their license. Police officers are not permitted to pull the driver over only for texting while driving, though. Instead, it is a secondary offense, meaning that there has to be another reason to pull the driver over. If someone is texting while driving, though, chances are that h or she is drifting in the lane or driving carelessly. Doing so is enough for an officer to pull the person over. A first offense is a $75 fine. A second offense is a $100 fine and one month gets added on to the probationary period. For a third offense, the driver is fined $100 and loses his or her license for one month.
Distracted driving causes over 400,000 injuries per year. It is a major epidemic that needs to be addressed. Otherwise, injuries and deaths will continue to occur at a rapid rate. If you or a loved one has been seriously injured when a distracted driver crashed into your car, please do not wait. Contact us today so we can help. Snyder and Wenner is a proud supporter of End Distracted Driving, and Brian Snyder is available to speak at local high schools on the dangers of distracted driving.